Snapchat denies it stores users' messages and pictures
Snapchat has responded to the public outcry, explaining that this is simply not the case. But having spread around the world via mainstream media, the rumor may be hard to quash -- perhaps the app's Ghostface Chillah mascot spooked people over Halloween.
— Snapchat (@Snapchat) November 2, 2015
In a separate blog post, the company confirmed that any messages "are automatically deleted from our servers once we detect that they have been viewed or have expired":
Of course, a recipient can always screenshot or save your Snaps or Chats. But the important point is that Snapchat is not -- and never has been -- stockpiling your private Snaps or Chats. And because we continue to delete them from our servers as soon as they're read, we could not -- and do not -- share them with advertisers or business partners.
- We added language to the Terms of Service regarding in-app purchases. We needed to do that now that we're selling Replays -- and have some other cool products and services we’re looking forward to bringing to you soon.
- To make it a little easier for friends to find you on Snapchat, we’ve clarified what info -- like your name -- will be visible to other Snapchatters and how you can modify that info.
Will it be enough to calm the fears of those whose paranoia has been piqued?