WhatsApp bug means you could still receive messages from people you block
A bug has been discovered in popular chat tool WhatsApp that completely undermines the blocking feature.
The idea behind blocking people on WhatsApp -- just like any other app or service -- is to prevent them from contacting you, and to stop them from viewing your activity. But the bug means that blocked users are still able to send messages to people who have blocked them, as well as viewing statuses and profile details.
The problem appears to be affecting the iOS, Android and desktop versions of WhatsApp, and the company has remained tight-lipped about what is going on. It is not the case that all blocked users are able to bypass blocks, but it is not clear exactly what circumstances lead to the block being rendered useless.
Over on Twitter, WABetaInfo suggests that the problem is a server-side one -- which would explain why it is affecting various platforms:
It looks blocked contacts might sometimes be able to see your profile picture and last seen. It really seems a server side bug.
I recommend you to remove the blocked contact from your Address Book, to configure Privacy Settings on “My Contacts” and mute the blocked contact’s chat
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) May 23, 2018
WhatsApp has not provided information about when a fix might be available, but in the meantime one suggested solution is to unblock a user and then reblock them if you start to receive unwanted messages.