Want to unsend WhatsApp messages? Delete For Everyone feature is being tested
WhatsApp users have many requests for new features that would improve the way the app works for them. One that is most frequently requested is the ability to unsend messages that have been fired off in haste, or contain mistakes.
Users of the Facebook-owned messaging tool will be pleased to hear that the unsend option -- also known as Delete For Everyone -- is undergoing testing, and could be on the verge of rolling out to all.
- Verified accounts are coming to WhatsApp
- WhatsApp tests free Business app, but will charge larger enterprises
The highly reliable WABetaInfo revealed details of the feature on Twitter, highlighting differences between the way the Android and iOS versions of the app will handle message deletion. It explains: "WhatsApp for Android: when the sender deletes the message for everyone, it will be updated in the Notification Center too," and "WhatsApp for iOS: when the sender deletes the message for everyone, WhatsApp will delete it in the Notification Center."
DELETE FOR EVERYONE NEWS!
[AVAILABLE SOON!] pic.twitter.com/GQ6eqbNvSn
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) September 12, 2017
The feature apparently already works for users who have rooted their phones.
We don’t know when WhatsApp will unleash the feature on everyone, so you'll just have to keep your eyes peeled.